Share

Yerba Buena Center for the Arts Presents:

Occupy Bay Area
July 7-October 14, 2012
Gallery 3
$10 Regular/ $8 students, senior, discount
FREE for YBCA Members & YBCA:You
FREE first Tuesday of each month • noon – 8 pm

Since its inception in September 2011, the Occupy Movement has generated both praise and condemnation. A direct response to the financial instability, subprime mortgage crisis and the decline of trust in the government’s ability to effectively address the problems in the labor market, it continues to resonate in the American consciousness. In response to the significant output of art and documentation produced in support of the Occupy Movement in Oakland and San Francisco, YBCA has put together an exhibition of works that have proven to be particularly effective in supporting the goals and aspirations of the Movement. Impressively, various political poster artists devoted their talents to messaging the politics and culture of the movement by creating iconic images — designs that were a call to action, or posters announcing an upcoming event. In many ways these works, by twenty-five Bay Area artists, carry forward the region’s long tradition as a leader in political struggles, from the Free Speech Movement of the 1960s, to struggles by communities of color in the 1970s, to AIDS activism in the 1980s. The exhibition also includes a selection of photojournalistic and documentary photography and video that serve as a record of the events around the Occupy Movement.

Additionally, to connect to earlier movements and provide a historical context for the project, the exhibition includes posters and photographs from other political struggles, including the Black Panther Party, I-Hotel in Manilatown (1968–77); the ARC/AIDS Vigil at City Hall (1985–95); the Occupation of Alcatraz (1969–71); the Free Speech Movement at UC Berkeley (1964–65); and the San Francisco State University protests, to gain an Ethnic Studies program and Black Student Union demands (1968–69).While these earlier movements certainly differ in ways from Occupy, they all are the result of a deep desire for marginalized peoples to be represented and treated fairly.

This exhibition is not meant to represent a fully executed social history, but is a testament of the power of images to evoke the emotional expression of popular and wide-spread sentiments. By localizing our efforts, we also pay special tribute to the role that Bay Area artists have played in giving voice to the 99% and utilizing art as an effective vehicle for social change.

Poster artists:
Rich Black
Zerena Diaz
Cannon Dill
Dignidad Rebelde (Melanie Cervantes and Jesus Barraza)
Eric Drooker
Alexandra Fisher
Dave Garcia
Ronnie Goodman
Jason Justice
Gabby Miller and Miriam Klein Stahl
Nuclear Winter Art
Occupy Design
Political Gridlock (Jon-Paul Bail)
Cristy C. Road
Faviana Rodriguez
Chris Shaw
Colin Smith
Winston Smith
Chuck Sperry
Xavier Viramontes
Gregoirire Vion
Fred Zaw
Anonymous artists

Aligned artists:
Sergio de la Torre
Kota Ezawa
Eric Drooker
Megan Wilson
Suzanne Lacy
Sanaz Mazinani

Artists of historical posters & photographs:
Robert Bechtle
Emory Douglas
Rupert Garcia
Ilka Hartmann
Steven Marcus
“Indian Joe” Morris
Rachael Romero
Sheila Tully
Anonymous artists

Photojournalism and video artists:
Li Chen
Ewen Wright

Share

“The Bridge Is Over” at LoPo Gallery, SF

On November 25, 2010, in Art Events, by squirt

Spoke Art is presenting a group show entitled “The Bridge Is Over” in SF this Saturday, November 27th from 6PM – Midnight, featuring an array of artists from the East Bay at the new Lopo Gallery.

A special all ages preview will happen from 6PM – 8PM before the full bar opens at 8PM. Catering will be provided by La Mediterranee at 6PM as well as complimentary wine.

LoPo Gallery

1141 Polk St. San Francisco, CA 94109.

Featuring: Brett Amory, John Felix Arnold III, Kate August, Nicholas Lea Bruno, John Casey, Monica Canilao, Eddie Colla, Dave Correia, Meagan Donegan, Emory Douglas, GATS, Peter Gronquist, Carolynn Haydu, Scott Hove, Hunter de la Ghetto, Jeremiah Jenkins, Keba Konte, Amanda Lopez, Justin Lovato, Becca Jay, Daryll Peirce, Jeff Rassier, Chuck Sperry, Deth P Sun, Hannah Stouffer, Ras Terms, Gina Tuzzi, Annie Vought, Derek Weisberg, Aoi Yamaguchi, Zoltron

Share

Photo Credit: Mike Abramson

This Friday is going to be all about celebrating the creative talent that has come out of the East Bay for the past decade. There are two shows opening this friday as part of the East Bay Express’ “Best of the East Bay” Party. “A Decade with No Name” and “If These Walls Could Talk.” Hangar 18 Artists – Emory Douglas, Chuck Sperry, Ron Donovan, Chris Shaw, Alexandra Fischer, Reuben Rude, Dave Hunter, Alan Hynes, Jon-Paul Bail, Scott Johnson, Frank Zio and Zoltron – were invited to participate (see list and links below).

A Decade with no Name is going to be a group show of 22 artists who work in a variety of mediums. As the facebook event describes it: “multi-disciplinary look into the works currently being created in our collective backyard, “The Decade With No Name” serves as a celebration of the sculptors, painters, photographers and street artists who call Oakland, Berkeley and the greater East Bay their home.”

Pictures are borrowed from the artists websites.

Occurring simultaneously outdoors, “If These Walls Could Talk“ will feature a live showcase of aerosol art by Bay Area legends Chor Boogie, Apex and Eon75 with additional support from Los Angeles’ Dabs/Myla and Surge. All six artists will be working on live graffiti murals during the event.

The Hangar 18 artists will have a Poster Kiosk right across from the Graffiti Mural.

Check out the Facebook event for more details, this is all going on:

Jack London Square
Friday August 6th
5:00pm – 11:00pm

The Gallery is across from the Main Stage.

Participating Artists for “A Decade With No Name”:

Eddie Colla - http://eddiecolla.wordpress.com/
Zoltron - http://zoltron.com/
GATS - http://www.flickr.com/groups/graffitiagainstthesystem/
Ras Terms - http://www.myspace.com/rasterms
Monica Canilao - http://www.monicacanilao.com/
Meagan Donegan - http://meagandonegan.com/home.html
Annie Vought - http://annievought.com/
Scott Hove - http://www.mshove.com/
Peter Gronquist - http://www.petergronquist.com/
Owen Cook - http://theeowencook.com/
Brett Amory - http://www.brettamory.com/
Alika Cooper - http://www.alikacooper.com/
Brendan Monroe - http://www.brendanmonroe.com/
Aaron Nagel - http://www.aaronnagel.com/
Skinner - http://www.theartofskinner.com/
David D’Andrea - http://www.dvdandrea.com/
Dave Correia - http://www.playwithknives.com/
Jason Vivona - http://www.jasonvivona.com/
Deth P. Sun - http://www.dethpsun.com/
John Felix Arnold - http://www.theothersideofasmile.info/
Amanda Lopez - http://www.amandalopezphoto.com/
John Coyne - http://www.caughtinthescramble.com/

Poster Art / Hangar18 Showcase:
Emory Douglas - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Emory_Douglas
Chuck Sperry - http://chucksperry.net/
Ron Donovan - http://rondonovan.net/
Reuben Rude - http://www.reubenrude.com/
Dave Hunter - http://gammalyte.com/blog/
Chris Shaw - http://homepage.mac.com/c.shaw/Menu5.html
Jon-Paul Bail - http://www.gridlock.bigcartel.com/
Alexandra Fischer - http://www.facebook.com/Afishcalledalex
Alan Hynes - http://omgposters.com/2009/07/30/ten-questions-with-alan-hynes/
Scott Johnson - http://www.scottyjprints.com/
Frank Zio - http://www.facebook.com/pages/Frank-Zio/95871445028

Participating Artists for “If These Walls Could Talk”:
Chor Boogie - http://www.chorboogie.com/
Apex - http://www.vimby.com/video/art/us/all/detail/9695
Eon75 - http://maxehrman.carbonmade.com/
Dabs & Myla - http://www.dabsmyla.com/
Surge

Share